April 8th, 2017

iRead!

Word of the Day 04/08/17 Code-Switching

Code-Switching (noun)
code-switching [kohd-swich-ing]


noun
1. Linguistics. the alternating or mixed use of two or more languages, especially within the same discourse: My grandma’s code-switching when we cook together reminds me of my family's origins. Bilingual students are discouraged from code-switching during class.
2. Sociolinguistics. the use of one dialect, register, accent, or language variety over another, depending on social or cultural context, to project a specific identity: Politicians use code-switching on the campaign trail to connect with their audience.
3. the modifying of one's behavior, appearance, etc., to adapt to different sociocultural norms: For many female Muslim students, code-switching from their home environment to that of school requires forgoing the hijab.

Also called code-shifting [kohd-shif-ting].



Origin: First recorded in 1955-60

Now YOU come up with a sentence (or fic? or graphic?) that best illustrates the word.
SG1: Jack - Temptation

Saturday Word Wars Morning Edition

Howdy word warriors, are you ready for the first set of rounds? (There'll be another set at 3pm Pacific time today and also some at 10 am Pacific on Sunday).

I've got 2 fics that need to get done by end of the month in addition to my Camp NaNo project and various bingos (did I mention I need an intervention).

Who else is here and ready for all the words?

Round 1: 8:00 am PDT (15:00 UTC) to 8:25am PDT (15:25 UTC)
Round 2: 8:35 am PDT (15:35 UTC) to 9:00am PDT (16:00 UTC)
Round 1: 9:10 am PDT (16:10 UTC) to 9:35am PDT (16:35 UTC)
Round 1: 9:45 am PDT (16:45 UTC) to 10:10am PDT (17:10 UTC)

We rocked!
asphaltcowgrrl: 3015 words
craterdweller: 1138 words

Total words: 4153

I'll be back later today to host another set of rounds.
SG1: Jack - Temptation

Saturday Word Wars - Round 2

Who's ready for more word wars?

I'm going to switch gears from editing my NaNo project back to working on a Stargate Reverse Bang. What are your goals?

Round 1: 15:00 PM PDT (22:00 UTC) to 15:25 PM PDT (22:25 UTC)
Round 2: 15:35 PM PDT (22:35 UTC) to 15:25 PM PDT (23:00 UTC)
Round 3: 16:10 PM PDT (23:10 UTC) to 15:25 PM PDT (23:35 UTC)
Round 4: 16:45 PM PDT (23:45 UTC) to 15:25 PM PDT (00:10 UTC)

We owned the words tonight!
candream: 100 words
asphaltcowgrrl: 2912 words
severina2001: 1691 words
weakmoments: 1009 words
craterdweller: 1760 words

Totals! 7472 words!!!

GO US!
YESH!, woo-hoo!, chibi Rorschach approves

Hotline (Create A TV Show)


Hotline is a new hour-long teen drama loosely inspired by the 90s miniseries of the same name by Carolyn Meyer. The action centers around three teenagers who work at a peer-oriented community crisis center, each of them having their own reasons for being there. In between taking calls and counseling other youths they also have their own lives to deal with, and not everything is perfect. But these three unlikely coworkers- and friends?- may find support in each other.

Collapse )

Read and look on AO3 if you feel like