January 23rd, 2016

STOCK: smiley coffee

Word Wars 6am (PST) or 2PM UTC edition

I'll be starting Round 1 at the top of the hour (6am PST or 14:00 UTC). Hope those in the path of the storm are all okay and have power/heat/necessities.


Round 1: 06:00am 06:25am PST (14:00 - 14:25 UTC)
Round 2: 06:35am 07:00am PST (14:35 - 15:00 UTC)
Round 3: 07:10am 07:35am PST (15:00 - 15:35 UTC)
Round 4: 07:45am 08:10am PST (15:45 - 16:10 UTC)

Let's knock out those words!

We were awesome despite the snow and distractions!
kaige68 : 1707 words and a completed fic!
thtwzjustadream: 460 words while keeping an eye on work stuff
craterdweller: 1328 words and a mostly finished draft on a rare pair fic

Total words: 3495 words!

**Edit because apparently I like to reverse numbers early in the morning **
1MW-weekend
  • haldoor

Weekend Challenge!

Hey everyone! It's the weekend, so it's time to get some more words out. This weekend I'm all about One Hit Wonders. I found a list of 100 'all-time best one-hit-wonder songs' floating about in my hard drive and while I may have used this before, choose a number you don't usually and you're bound to have a different title given to you for inspiration.

Use them how you will - find the song and/or lyrics and see what it leads you to, or simply use the words of the title to include in your fic or inspire you! Any fic of 500+ words or set of five icons or one banner/wallpaper posted or linked back here before midnight Sunday in your own local time will get a drabble or icon reward from me, or if you prefer I can add 100 words to one of my WIPs in your honour! Any fandom (or none), any genre!

Comment here with a number or numbers and I will give you a title! Dance off with the song title I give you and create! (I have to go out for an hour or so just now, so there will be a slight delay between posting this and coming back with your numbers)
CELEB: RDA b&w

Word Wars 5pm Edition

As promised I'll be starting another set of word wars. Running a few minutes behind so let's plan on ten past the hour? Sorry for the delay :(

Round 1: 17:10pm 17:35pm PST (01:10 - 01:35 UTC)
Round 2: 17:45pm 18:10pm PST (01:45 - 02:10 UTC)
Round 1: 18:20pm 18:45pm PST (02:20 - 02:45 UTC)
Round 1: 18:55pm 19:20pm PST (02:55 - 03:20 UTC)

What is everyone working on tonight?

Sorry these results are a bit late - I started watching a dvd and got distracted :)

WE SO TOTALLY OWNED THIS DAY THOUGH!!!

severina2001: 1393+ words
sandrasfisher: 831 words
thtwzjustadream: 520 words
haldoor: 786+ words
kaige68: 1628 words
craterdweller: 862 words

Total words: 6020 words + more words (at least a couple of folks kept writing for additional time) and quite a few finished/started/revised projects.

WELL DONE EVERYONE!!
fanfic

Rare pairs thoughts : crossover rare pairs?

So, thought I'd throw out a thought for discussion on this month's challenge. There were a couple of topics on the main post that seemed worth an extended think, and one was crossover rares.

Now, one line of thought would be that all crossover pairings are rare, so there's no point in considering them for this month when we'll have a crossover challenge soon enough. But I've found that in at least one of the more populated crossovers I've seen, there is one crossed couple who pretty much dominates. So any other couple that was one from each fandom would, imo, qualify as a rare pair above and beyond the rarity of the crossover.

What do you think? Is any cross fandom pairing rare, or are there some that dominate enough to not seem rare to you in your favorites? What crossover rare pair would you like to write or see?