January 10th, 2016

Teen Wolf::Stiles::pencil

Word of the Day 01/10/16 Consequential

Consequential (adjective)
consequential [kon-si-kwen-shuh l]


adjective
1. following as an effect, result, or outcome; resultant; consequent.
2. following as a logical conclusion or inference; logically consistent.
3. of consequence or importance: a consequential man in his field.
4. self-important; pompous.

Origin: 1620-30; < Latin consequenti (a) consequence + -al

Now YOU come up with a sentence (or fic? or graphic?) that best illustrates the word.
CELEB: RDA b&amp;w

Word Wars 7am (PST) or 2PM UTC edition

A little worn out from last week - but I'm still game for some word wars :) Everyone have their rare pairs or favorite projects ready?

Round 1 07:00 am PST (15:00 UTC) - 07:25 am PST (15:25 UTC)
Round 2 07:35 am PST (15:35 UTC) - 08:00 am PST (16:00 UTC)
Round 3 08:10 am PST (16:10 UTC) - 08:35 am PST (16:35 UTC)
Round 4 08:45 am PST (16:45 UTC) - 09:10 am PST (17:10 UTC)

TOTALS:
guineamania: 1101 words and 2015 Brag Book post is up.
alba17: 1888 words
kaige68: 2109 words including a nonfiction piece
craterdweller: 1289 words on a new rare pair

6387 rockin' words! YAY US!!!
1MW-Snoopy-words&amp;friends
  • haldoor

Friending Meme 2016!

Hey everyone, how's your weekend going? Is it a good time to make new friends, or to connect with some you've known longer? YOU BET IT IS!

Here it is, the all-new 2016 1_million_words friending meme! Come on in, the water's fine! Tell us about yourself, then read through everyone else's replies and make friends!

The Questions

Name: What you’d like us to call you
LJ age: How long have you been on LJ?
What is your Creativity Goal this year: Written and/or image count
What is your goal this year beyond that: Something a little more personal
Where in the world are you: Just generally, we're not planning on camping on your lawn
Current Fandom(s): Ones you create in currently
Earlier/old Fandom(s): Ones you used to create in, but don't so much any more
Do you Original fic? Read it, write it, both?
Favorite comm(s): Other than us
Gen, Het, or Slash:
Languages you write in:
Favourite 'go to' movie(s) and why: Movies you'll watch again and again because they make you laugh/cry/feel better/whatever
Favourite movie/TV show genre(s): Horror-comedy and SF-comedy? ME TOO!
What inspires you? Do you have a muse who whispers things at you randomly, or perhaps you read headlines in the newspaper and then think Barney Rubble would look so good doing that!
What type of creative project(s) do you find you can do easily:
What type of creative project(s) would you like to get better at:
Coffee, Pepsi, tea, Coke, water, juice, vodka: What's your poison while you create, after sex, or while you sneak-read under your desk at work?
Tell us about your Pet(s): Does your dog beg for tidbits, is your cat a burglar in its spare time, do you have bunnies that multiply more than the ones in your head?
Do your friends/family encourage you to create?
Name a song that always makes you cry like a baby:
How's your memory: Like a goldfish, an elephant or somewhere in between?
Walk, jog, bicycle, car: How lazy are you?
I don't think that word means what you think it means: Something you always get wrong when writing
And lastly, anything else you want to say, or finish with a gif that sums you up:

Copy the contents of the box below and answer in a comment here!


And I'll get us started; now you! ;-)
Quill

2015 Shameless Brag Book!

2015 was AWESOME here at 1MW

So 2015 was my first 1MW year and I can honestly say WE ROCKED IT!

So here is your chance to gloat and share you favourite things that you wrote/made in 2015!

I thought I would start us off with possibly the best (definately the best recieved) thing I wrote in 2015.

Avengers Interference - http://archiveofourown.org/works/4081024/chapters/9191461

This is what happens when my Daredevil obsession turns to crossovers. It was so much fun to write and I felt my heart swell everytime someone complimented it. I honestly miss writing it but it ran its course!

So I challenge you all to sift through the thousands of words and graphics produced and come up with what you are most proud of and post it in the comments here so we can have a post summing up the
Best of 2015!!

Also as Dreamy did last year: I will also be offering rewards to those who contribute to help with the effort for 2016: I write and make icons and sigtags.
Here is my list of fandoms: http://1-million-words.livejournal.com/32093.html?thread=10553693#t10553693

Good Luck and enjoy the trail of memories!
Brag Book Master Post
Guineamania:
Avengers Interference (Daredevil Avengers Crossover) - http://archiveofourown.org/works/4081024/chapters/9191461

Elasticella:
Fractures (Daredevil: Claire/Karen) - http://archiveofourown.org/works/3956371


Mtxref_fic:
Curiousity Shop (Lovecraftian Horror) - http://atlanteanpublishing.wikia.com/wiki/Beyond_The_Wall_of_Death
We'll Leave the Lights On (Lovecraftian Horror) - http://www.amazon.com/Lovecraft-ME-Macabre-Maine/dp/1329695895/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1449366287&sr=8-1&keywords=lovecraft+me

thtwzjustadream:
Everything you want, Everything you need (Suits: Mike/Harvey) - http://archiveofourown.org/works/3411872/chapters/7471094

erinm_4600:
Harry Potter, Willy Wonka, Mary Poppins and Alice in Wonderland Crossover - http://12to32.livejournal.com/tag/series%3A%20mary%26minnie

Heffermonkey:
Petals and Ink (H5O: Steve/Danny) - http://archiveofourown.org/series/366719


Crookedspon:
Between the dragons and their wrath (crispy toast remix) (Game of Thrones) - http://archiveofourown.org/works/4181049

Craterdweller:
Sam's Place (Stargate SG-1: Sam Carter/Jack O'Neil) - http://archiveofourown.org/works/4600788


dracosdreamer:
The Hand of Wrath (seaQuest: Nathan/Kristin) - http://archiveofourown.org/works/913814/chapters/1771418

Tarnished (seaQuest: Katherine/Benjamin) - http://archiveofourown.org/works/4692002
(Be)longing (Farscape: John/Aeryn) - http://archiveofourown.org/works/4694141
Four (Star Trek Voyager: Chakotay/Kathryn) - http://archiveofourown.org/works/5408294

sharpiesgal:

Midnight Snack (Castle: Pre-Relationship Castle/Beckett) - http://archiveofourown.org/works/5451803
A Way to His Heart (MCU: Clint/Phil, Tony/Bruce) - http://archiveofourown.org/works/5433074
Enduring Love (MCU: Phil/Natasha) - http://archiveofourown.org/works/4582752
Chance Encounter (MCU: Phil/Clint) - http://archiveofourown.org/works/4576365


kaige68:
Passports and Bacon (Star Trek Alternate Original Series: Chekov/McCoy) - http://archiveofourown.org/works/5216537
And a dead guy (No Fandom: She/He) - http://archiveofourown.org/works/5145596
Infinity (H5O: Steve/Danny) - http://archiveofourown.org/works/4904446/chapters/11248972

simplyn2deep:
Set Fire to the Rain (H5O: Steve/Danny, Mary Ann/Matthew) - http://archiveofourown.org/works/3162776/chapters/6866642
Does this Piercing Make Me Look Sexy (Teen Wolf: Stiles/Derek) - http://archiveofourown.org/works/3307070
A Pinch of Seasoning (Teen Wolf: WIP) - http://archiveofourown.org/works/3330959/chapters/7282925
Of Magic and Flowers (Teen Wolf: WIP Pre-Stiles/Derek) - http://archiveofourown.org/works/3408458/chapters/7462925
Like a Cowboy (Teen Wolf: WIP Implied Stiles/Derek) - http://archiveofourown.org/works/3487868/chapters/7662248
The Annex (The Librarians) - http://archiveofourown.org/works/3173760


haldoor:
Dreams (True Blood: Eric/Jason) - http://archiveofourown.org/works/4150800
It's What You Do (Torchwood: Jack/Ianto) - http://archiveofourown.org/works/4151013
Out of the Cold (How to Get Away With Murder: Connor/Oliver) - http://archiveofourown.org/works/4151106
Out of the Locker Room (H50: Steve/Danny/OMC) - http://archiveofourown.org/works/5581252
MCU: Natasha blue

Daily Count Challenge to guineamania!

My muse has been all over the place since this year started, but I had an awesome word count day yesterday, so going into today, my work count tracker for the year told me I was about 1,500 words behind schedule. So I wrote 1,709 words for my Extreme Big Bang, and now I am 200 above where I need to be \o/ I'm not sure how great the words are, but I'm proud of myself for forcing through and getting something on paper!

So guineamania, take it away! I wish you all sorts of luck! You can do it!